YOUTH SERVICES

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION AND NOTIFICATION
REQUIREMENTS

In accordance with R.S. 15;543, Youth Services (YS) has the duty to provide sex offenders with the
information necessary for awareness of sex offender registration and notification requirements. This
notice is provided to (name of offender), who was years old at the time
the offense was committed. The offender was adjudicated delinquent for violation of one or more of the
following offenses:

(Check those that apply)

() Attempt ( ) Conspiracy ( ) Aggravated rape (R.S. 14:42)

() Attempt () Conspiracy ( ) Forcible rape (R.S. 14:42.1)

() Attempt () Conspiracy ( ) Second degree sexual battery (R.S. 14:43.2)

() Attempt () Conspiracy ( ) Aggravated kidnapping of a child who has not attained the
age of thirteen years (R.S. 14:44)

() Attempt () Conspiracy ( ) Second degree kidnapping of a child who has not attained
the age of thirteen years (R.S. 14:44.1)

() Attempt () Conspiracy ( ) Aggravated incest involving circumstances defined as an
=aggravated offense” (R.S. 14.78.1)

() Atempt () Conspiracy ( ) Aggravated crime against nature (R.S. 14:89.1)

*Out-of-state youth establishing a Louisiana residence who have been adjudicated delinquent for one of
the above-listed offenses are required to register.

YS is required by law to provide written notice of the following:

REGISTRATION INFORMATION (RS 15:542)
WHERE TO REGISTER:
1) Sheriff & police depariment (PD) of residence
2) Sheriff & PD where employed & enroiled in schooi
3) First Year ONLY-Register with sheriff of parish where adjudicated
WHEN TO REGISTER:
1) Within 3 business days after adjudicated delinquent for offense listed above, or
2) Within 10 days before release from a secure facility or detention center, or

3) As soon as possible, but no later than January 31, 2008, for youth adjudicated delinquent prior
to January 1, 2008 and who are on probation, parole, or in non-secure custody.
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*OUT-OF-STATE OFFENDERS ESTABLISHING A LOUISIANA RESIDENCE:

Within 3 business days of establishing a Louisiana residence:

1) Register with the sheriff & PD of: residence, school, & work

2) Notify the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal |dentification & Information (the “Bureau”)
3) Comply with Limited Community Notification requirements as outlined below

NON-RESIDENT OFFENDERS REQUIRED TO REGISTERIN LOUISIANA:

Any part-time or full-time worker employed and/or student enrolled in Louisiana must register
within (3) business days of employment or enroliment with the sheriff & PD where employed and/or
enrolled.

INFORMATION & DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR REGISTRATION:

1) Name & aliases

2) Physical address of residence

3) Name & physical address of employment (If no fixed place of employment, provide as much
information as possible, including travel routes)

4) Name & physical address of school

5) (2) forms of proof of residence, such as a Drivers License, utility bill, or telephone bill. If these

forms of proof are not available, the offender may provide an affidavit from an adult resident

residing at the same address certifying that he understands his obligation to provide written notice

to the sheriff and PD with whom offender last registered when offender moves out

6) Crime, date & place of adjudication, &, if known, court, docket number, statute number, and

sentence imposed

7) Current photo

8) Fingerprints, palm prints, DNA sample

9) All phone numbers, fixed & mobile

10)Description of every vehicle registered to or operated by offender, including license plate

number & copy of Drivers License or {dentification Card

11) Social Security number& Date of Birth

12) Description of physical characteristics, including sex, race, hair color, eye color, height, age,

weight, & identifying marks

13) Every email address, screen name, or other online identity used by the offender on the

Internet

14) Temporary lodging information regarding any place offender plans to stay for (7) days or

more

15) Travel & immigration documents, including passports

COST: $60 annual registration fee
REGISTRATION TIME PERIOD:

Offenders must register and maintain registration for their lifetime, unless the underlying
adjudication is reversed, set aside, or vacated. The requirement to register shall apply regardless
of whether or not the offender is pardoned. The lifetime registration established pursuant to
R.S.15:544 shall be reduced to a period of 25 years if the offender maintains a ciean record for 25
years.
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PERIODIC RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION:

Offenders must update their registration in-person every (90) days for the entire registration
period from the date of initial registration with the sheriff of the parish of residence as provided in
R.S5.15:542.1.1.

Offenders must provide their fingerprints to the sheriff of the parish of residence yearly as
provided in R.S.15:542(A)(4).

PERIODIC WRITTEN VERIFICATION OF ADDRESS TO THE “BUREAU":

Offenders will receive a non-forwardable Verification of Address form to their last reported
address every (90) days. The form must be completed & returned to the Bureau within (1 0) daysof
receipt.

CHANGES IN REGISTRATION INFORMATION (RS 15:642.1.2):

Offenders changing registration information or their residence within the parish where they are
currently registered must appear in-person at the sheriff's office & PD within (3) business days of
establishing a new or additional residence to update their information when:

1) changing place of residence or establishing a new or additional residence; or

2) vacating current address with no intent to return; or

3) absent from current address (30) consecutive days or a total of (30) days per calendar
year & physically present at another address; or

4) change of name, place of employment, or school enroliment.

Offenders changing or adding a new residence in a different parish than where they are
currently registered must, within (3) business days of establishing a new or additional residence:

1) appear in-person at the sheriff's office of the new residence; and
2) send a written notice of change of address or other information to the sheriff & PD
where previously registered.

Within (3) days from the date an offender establishes residence in another state, he must send
written notification to the Bureau and the law enforcement agency designated for sex offender
reporting under the laws of the state of the new residence if the new state has a registration
requirement pursuant to RS 15:543(B)(5).

LOUISIANA RESIDENTS EMPLOYED OR ENROLLED IN ANOTHER STATE:

Louisiana offenders leaving the state for part-time or full-time employment, with or without
compensation, for more than (7) consecutive days or a total of (30) or more days per calendar year
must notify the sheriff & PD in-person within (3) business days prior to leaving the state pursuant
to RS 15:542.1.2.

Louisiana offenders leaving the state for part-time or full-time enroliment in any school must notify
the sheriff & PD within (7) consecutive days prior to leaving the state to attend school.
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TEMPORARY LODGING:

If an offender plans to stay in temporary lodging for (7) consecutive days or more, he must notify
the sheriff where he resides in-person at least (3) days prior to establishing temporary lodging in
accordance with RS 15:542.1.2(F)(1).

DECLARATIONS OF EMERGENCY (RS 15:543.2):

During a declared emergency, offenders entering an emergency shelter must, within the first 24
hours of admittance, notify the facility management, municipality PD, & sheriff of their sex
offender status. The offender must provide:

1) name,

2) date of birth,

3) social security number, &
4) last address of registration

Failure to comply with this provision shall be considered a violation of a condition of probation and
parole and subject the offender to revocation.

LIMITED COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION (RS 15:542.1(B) & (C)):

Offenders adjudicated delinquent are exempt from notification requirements EXCEPT offenders
providing recreational instruction to persons under the age of 17 years old. Offenders providing
recreational instruction shall post a notice in the facility where such instruction is given pursuant to RS
15:542.1(B).

PENALTIES FOR FAILURE TO COMPLY:
Offenders who faii to:

1) register,

2) periodically renew & update registration;

3) provide proof of residence or change of address or other registration information,
4) provide community notification for recreational instructors; or

5) knowingly provide false information to a law enforcement agency

shall, upon 15t conviction, be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of (2) years at hard labor and
up to (10) years with no probation, parole, or suspension of sentence and shall be fined up to $1000.
Upon the 2nd angd subsequent convictions, the sentence shall be a mandatory minimum of 5)
years at hard labor and up to (20) years with no probation, parole, or suspension of sentence and
shall be fined $3000.
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THUS DONE AND SIGNED this day of , 20

, Louisiana.

I hereby certify that | have read and signed this form that explains the requirements for sex
offender registration and notification and the penality for failure to comply with those
requirements.

Signature of Sex Offender
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