Additional information may be
obtained from the rules governing
fleet management which can be
found in the Louisiana
Administrative Code, Title 34,
Part XI and/or from your agency
Transportation Coordinator.

This public document was
published at a total cost of
$348.37. Five thousand (5,000)
copies of this public: document
were published in this first
printing at a cost of $348.37. The
total cost of all printings of this
document, including reprints is
$348.37. This document was
published for the Louisiana
Property Assistance Agency, P.O.

1 Box 94095, Baton Rouge, LA
70804-9095 by the Division of |

Administration, State Printing
Office in accordance with R.S.
39:362 et al and LAC Title 34
Part XI. This material was printed
in accordance with the standards
for printing for state agencies
established pursuant to R.S.
43:31.

LOUISIANA
STATE FLEET
MANAGEMENT’S
OPERATOR’S
MANUAL

Division of Administration
" LPAA
P.O. Box 94095
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9095
Phone # (225) 342-6849



OPERATOR’S MANUAL

Purpose:

The purpose of state vehicles is to
provide safe and dependable
transportation for state employees
who require the use of state
vehicles in the performance of
their job responsibilities.

Driver Authorization:

Drivers of state vehicles must have
a valid driver’s license and an
approved  Authorization And
Driving History Form (DA 2054)
on file with the agency before
operating a state vehicle.

Responsible Operation:

Drivers of state vehicles must
operate their vehicles in a
responsible manner at all times.
This means inspecting vehicles
prior to use, obeying all traffic
- laws, driving defensively and
using seat belts. Any traffic
violations incurred by a driver
are the responsibility of the
" driver, not the state of Louisiana.

Trip Logs:

Drivers of state vehicles must
properly log each trip on the Daily

Vehicle Log form (DA MV 3).
Each trip should include the date,
the ending odometer reading, the
trip mileage, the beginning and
ending points of the trip, the
purpose of trip, and the driver’s
initials. Additionally, any fuel put
into the vehicle, fuel cost,
maintenance and repair cost, down
days, or other costs which are
incurred, must also be recorded in
the appropriate places on the form.

Personal Assignment/

Home Storage:

If your department/agency
believes that it is in the best
interest of the state to personally
assign a vehicle to a driver and/or
have that driver home store a state

‘vehicle, then a Request For

Personal Assignment And/Or
Home Storage Of State-Owned
Vehicle form (DAMV-2) must be
submitted to and approved by the
Commissioner of Administration
or his designee prior to the
vehicle’s assignment.

Maintenance And Repair:

A1l maintenance and repairs -

should be performed by the

“agency’s own repair facility, if one -

is available, or through the

Statewide  Fleet- Fuel and
Repair/Maintenance Service
contract as specified in the
Governor’s Executive  Order
governing small purchases. Tires,
batteries, glass, and transmission
repair/replacement  should  be
obtained through specific state
contracts if available. Please
contact the Office of State
Purchasing concerning  the
viability of these contracts.
Preventative maintenance should

‘be performed in accordance with

the  vehicle manufacturers
guidelines. - All  preventative
maintenance should be

documented and maintenance data
entered in the State of Louisiana’s

‘official system of recordation.

Accidents:

All  accidents  should be
immediately reported to the police
and the department/agency. The
accident should also be reported on
the Accident Report form (DA
2041) and submitted to the Office
of Risk Management within 24
hours in accordance with the
Office of Risk Management’s
Louisiana State Driver Safety
Program. For ~ additional
information contact the - Loss
Prevention section of the Office Of
Risk Management at (225) 342-
8500.



